What is the Schengen Zone? 

Schengen Zone is an area classified under the Schengen Convention signed by 22 European Union member states and 4 EFTA states.

Which countries are in the Schengen Zone? 

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

How do I apply for a Schengen Visa?

You would need to apply for your Schengen visa at the Embassy of your main destination. If the main destination cannot be determined, responsibility for issuance of the visa lies with the Schengen state of first entry.

If the country you are residing in does not have the relevant embassies to apply for a Schengen Visa, you are require to travel to where the closest embassy of the country you are visiting would be. If you are based in Male’, the closest city would be Colombo, Sri Lanka.

Types of Schengen Visas

  • Uniform Schengen Visas

The Uniform Schengen Visa stands for a permit of one of the Schengen Area Member Countries to transit or reside in the desired territory for a certain period of time up to the maximum of 90 days every six month period starting from the date of entry.

  • Limited Territorial validity visas (LTV)

This type of visa  allows you to travel only in the Schengen State that has issued the visa or in some other cases, in the certain Schengen States specifically mentioned when applying for the visa. Apart from these Schengen countries, this specific visa is invalid to any other Schengen country not specified prior. The holder of this type of visa cannot enter or transit through any other Schengen country that is not the first and final destination target.  This type of visa may apply for individuals who don’t possess a valid travel document yet have to travel to a Schengen area on an emergency of any kind.

  • National Visas

The national visa of “D” category is granted to the certain individuals who are to be studyingworking or permanently residing in one of the Schengen countries.

Lists of Visa Application Centres in Colombo

If your main destination is France*, Portugal, Spain, Monaco or Czech Republic

Embassy of France

61, Janadhipathi Mawatha, Postal Code 00100, Colombo 01

Tel: 011-4690801

Email:  info.francesl@vfshelpline.com


If you main destination is Germany, Austria, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia,

Embassy of Federal Republic of Germany

43, Temple Lane, Colombo 3

Tel.: +94-11-2580 431

Fax: +94-11-2504104

Email:  info.germansl@vfshelpline.com


If your main destination is Italy, Malta

Embassy of Italy

61, Janadhipathi Mawatha, Postal Code 00100, Colombo 01

Tel: 011-4690801

Email: info.italysl@vfshelpline.com


If your main destination is Norway, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Sweden

Royal Norwegian Embassy

61, Janadhipathi Mawatha, Postal Code 00100, Colombo 01

Tel: 011-4541770 and 011-4690801

Email: info.norwaysl.@vfshelpline.com


If your main destination is Switzerland, Liechtenstein, The Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Poland, Slovenia

Embassy of Switzerland

61, Janadhipathi Mawatha, Postal Code 00100, Colombo 01

Tel: 011 235 0670

Email: Info.switzerlandsl@vfshelpline.com


If your main destination is Greece

61, Janadhipathi Mawatha, Postal Code 00100, Colombo 01

Tel: 011-4690801

Email: info.greecesl@vfshelpline.com